Young Rider.com
Rules-Read First     Home          Members     Calendar     Who's On

Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

The Young Rider Forums are open to subscribers of Young Rider magazine ONLY. In order to register, you must have your Account Number. Please note that it takes 1-2 weeks for your subscription to be processed and your account to be activated.

Home » Young Rider Forum » Horse Problems/Training Questions » Encouraging "lazy" horse

Encouraging "lazy" horse Expand / Collapse
Author

Junior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior MemberJunior Member

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 10/28/2014 3:52:16 PM
Hey guys,
So i recently started riding this gelding: he is a 10 year old, about 16.2hh and not exactly sure what breed.
Anyway, I have been getting him back in shape for the woman I work for, and he is very hard to get encouraged, especially at the beginning of my ride. He was a rescue horse and it sounds like he was overused for lessons with little kids.
So, I don't want to push him too hard but I also want him to start doing more. We just do walk trot canter, leg yielding and turn on the forehand and recently started trot poles. He doesn't have any apparent medical issues and never seems to be in pain, always has his ears perked forward. I've been riding him for about 2 months and he has come a long way, however its just so hard to get/keep him going. I've done quite a bit of ground work with him which he responded well to, and he always nickers and comes to the gate when i go to get him. He's just so "lazy". Anyway, I'm rambling, but any help would be much appreciated.
Ps. I'm also taking a lesson on him once a week so I do have help from a trainer but I just wanted some other opinions/suggestions. :)

--Jasmine

"My horse's feet are as swift as rolling thunder,
she carries me away from all my fears,
and when the world threatens to fall asunder,
her mane is there to wipe away my tears."
I love you Twinkle!!!